Die Beamtennamen auf den griechischen Münzen

(Official Names on Greek Coins)

Rudolf Münsterberg published the names of magistrates known to have struck Greek coins. His lists, originally published in 1911, 1912, 1914, and 1927 are still useful today. Munsterberg died in 1926 and his works are now in the public domain.

NOTE: We would like to obtain the papers "Die römischen Kaisernamen der griechischen Münzen" (Names of Roman Emporors on Greek coins) and "Abkürzungen auf griechischen Münzen" (Abbreviations on Greek coins). This last title is NOT from Num. Zeit. The ANS library catalog entry says it was published in Zurich in 1914, in Festgabe fur Hugo Blumner.

Ed Snible, New York, 2005

Münsterberg's magistrate lists

Aegyptus Cyrenaica Syrtica Byzacene Zeugitana Numidia Mauretania Hispania Gallia und Britannia Italia Sicilia Chersonnesus Taurica Moesia Thracia Macedonia Thessalia Illyricum Epirus Acarnania Aetolia Locris Phocis Boeotia Athenae Megara Aegina Achaia Elis Messene Laconia Argolis Arcadia Creta Cyclades insulae Euboea Pontus Paphlagonia Bithynia Mysia Troas Aeolis Lesbus Ionia Caria Lycia Pamphylia Pisidia Cilicia Lycaonia Cyprus Lydia Phrygia Galatia Cappadocia Syria Phoenicia Unbestimmte Münzen

Münsterberg's indexes

Greek names (in nominative): [ Α Β Γ Δ Ε Ϝ Ζ Η Θ Ι Κ Λ Μ Ν Ξ Ο Π Ρ Σ Τ Υ Φ Χ Ψ Ω ]

Latin names (by surname): [ A B C D E F G H I/J K L M N O P Q R S T U V ]

Roman magistrates by region: Achaia Africa Asia Cappadocia Cilicia Crete et Cyrene Cyprus Galatia Hispaniae Macedonia Moesia Sardinia Sicilia Syria Thracia Unbestimmt

Titles and offices:



Corrections and addenda

('Seite' numbers run 2 to 175 — page #s in first sections (not yet online)).

Literature referenced

Alphabetical listing of the cities, countries and kings, on whose coins official names occur

General remarks (in German)

Back up to coins page.